Cycling South Australia 2017 Super Series Announcement

July 16, 2017

Planning for the 2017 Super Series is well underway. The 2017 edition will see some significant changes to allow more people to experience the thrill.

Cycling SA recognises the need for more racing, and more racing for those who do not fall into the elite category. In addition, Cycling SA believes teams based racing should not be exclusive to elites, and that every category should enjoy these opportunities. To this end we will be offering the following grades:
Mens Cat 1
Mens Cat 2*
Womens Cat 1
Womens Cat 2*
Masters Cat 1
Masters Cat 2 or O50*
To ensure both viability and quality racing Cycling SA is requesting Expressions Of Interest (EOI) from teams who are interested in competing in the 2017 series. *Each category requires a minimum number of competitors, if EOI received or lack thereof indicate the minimum numbers are not achievable, the category will not be offered.

Team Composition:

Maximum 8 rider roster, with minimum 4 starters per grade, and maximum 6 or 8 for each round.
Cat 1 team uniform requirements will remain the same as the 2016 series.
Cat 2 teams only need to have matching jerseys. Don’t have a sponsor? Why not enter as part of your club? Cat 2 teams will be able to pay their series entries as individuals, providing some great cost effective racing opportunities.


Due to calendar requirements, the 2017 series will run from the start of October and will either finish in December or January. Where possible there will be minimal clashes with major interstate and local events.
Although the series events are close to being confirmed we are expecting either 8 or 9 rounds, and all being weekend rounds**. The likely event format will be:
Victoria Park Criterium
Copper Coast Cup (2 rounds)
Victoria Park Criterium
Freeway Hill Climb
Victoria Park Criterium
Team’s Time Trial
St Clair Criterium
**Subject to change

Please send your EOI to stating which category you would like to enter a team into.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.