#SuperSeries17 Preview – Round 2 Hill Climb

October 5, 2017

The 2017 Super Series continues this weekend with the Round 2 Individual Time Trial up the popular Old Freeway Hill Climb Sunday, 8 October.

In 2016 BMC Racing Team’s Rohan Dennis (Lightsview) took to the start line with a target on his back. Ultimately it wasn’t to be for the 2016 Australian Time Trial Champion, who finished 27 seconds down on stage winner, Russell Van Hout (Lightsview). Tim Roe, also racing for Lightsview, finished second, with Chris Harper of Swiss Wellness Cycling Team rounding out the podium.

It was a hugely successful evening for Lightsview, who went 1-2 on the podium and had four riders in the Top 10. With ex-pro riders Van Hout and Chris Luxton confirmed as not starting it will be up to the Lightsview young guns Oliver Anderson, Justin Gassner, Matthew Gassner, Tom Kaesler and Jack Sykes to replicate the teams 2016 result.

With Harper confirmed as not starting, IsoWheySports SwissWellness have brought in 2-time New Zealand Road Race National Champion, Joe Cooper.  The TT Specialist holds titles such as, Oceania ITT Champion, it’s safe to say the 2017 target might be on Cooper’s back.

The Elite Women’s race saw Mercedes-Benz Adelaide Blackchrome (MBAB) go 1-2-3 on the stage and all 6 riders in the Top 10, giving the MBAB team a substantial lead in the team classification points. Nusha Kerin took the win, narrowly beating out Narelle Hards, while Christina Tenniswood was third. Hards is a favourite to place top 3 again but it won’t be easy with young guns by the likes of Sophie Edwards (SASI Blue) who took the bronze medal in the Under 19 Women’s National Individual Time Trial in June.

In the Masters race Michael Teniswood (Team Envirosport – FIIG) claimed a commanding win by 16 seconds over Scott Nolan (BE BMW), with Cameron Spears (Lightsview) a further 27 seconds back in third place. Spear’s went on to win the 2016 Masters Super Series and is named as the 2017 Squad Team Captain.


Our current 2017 General Classification Leaders are:

Category 1 – Elite Men Sam WELSFORD (Mitchelton/Scott pb CA)
Category 1 – Elite Women Chloe MORAN (SASI – Red)
Category 1 – Masters Phil Dixon (Keystone Cycling)
Category 2 – Men Tom BAXTER (Norwood Cycling Team)
Category 2 – Women Jazz MARTIN (Coffylosophy Cycling Team)
Category 2 – Masters Keith FELIX (ADX Depot)

Quick Links:  
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.