Team Preview: Tonsley Village (formerly Lightsview)

August 29, 2019

Defending Elite series champions Lightsview is back to defend its title with a brand new name – Tonsley Village.

Tonsley Village is the latest master-planned community from parent company Peet. Having entered a team in every year of the Cycling SA Super Series, Peet are one of the longest continual sponsors of a local cycling team, and have posted remarkable results over the journey. They’ve won overall individual honours in the elite series an impressive 4 times, including the 2018 series with Justin ‘Nugget’ Gassner. They’ve also won numerous other categories on multiple occasions, including the team’s classification, sprint jerseys, team time trials, not to mention plenty of individual stage victories.

The team’s roster boasts some highly accomplished riders, leaving Tonsley Village with plenty of cards to play as they look to repeat their 2018 success. Nugs will be hoping to go back-to-back, whilst the evergreen Chris Luxton shows no signs of slowing down. 2019 recruits include young gun Cooper Sayers, 2018 runner-up Jack Sutton and former track sprinter Paddy Constable. After representing Australia on the track at the 2016 Olympic Games and winning bronze at the 2018 Commonwealth Games, Paddy is sure to be a hard man to beat as he switches his focus to road cycling.

Tonsley Village’s Cat 1 Masters team has also posted impressive results, winning 2 of the last 3 series (individual and teams), and will be sure to be at the pointy end of races again in 2019.

Not to be outdone by their younger counterparts, Tonsley Village’s more ‘experienced’ riders will be giving the Cat 2 Masters a red hot crack!

Entering teams across 3 categories is not possible without the generous support of sponsors, including Tonsley Village, Lightsview, Peet, Adelaide Bike Fit, Cervelo, Finlaysons, Greenhill, smartposts and Alexander Symonds.

With a team ethos that demands celebrating your teammate’s success more than your own, Tonsley Village look set for another big Super Series!

Full roster: Justin Gassner, Oliver Anderson, Patrick Constable, Cooper Sayers, James Glasspool, Jack Sutton, Chris Luxton, Michael Ward, Cameron Spears, Matt Dorian, Stephen Kavanagh, Cameron Bowden, Scott Nolan, Craig Yates, Steven Nash, Baden Brosnan, Loza Shaw, Alan Miller, Tony Mcloughlin and Garry Davis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.