Rocket Team Racing Takes Off, Butterfields Racing Dominates And Wind Causes Havoc

September 23, 2019

Category Two Reports

The points race format for the Mischief Brew Round One did make things harder, but the Cat 2 Teams were treated to an even greater challenge with some very testing wind conditions. With a direct crosswind streaking across the two main straights it would be a day for the strongest in every bunch.

Masters Cat 2

With an almost capacity field, Masters Cat 2 took to the start line with a lot of enthusiasm. All eyes were on Norwood Cycling Club’s Tom Baxter, who dominated the sprint finishes of the 2018 season. The points race format was bound to shake things up, with only the foolish or very brave prepared to pick a winner.

Unexpectedly, a break formed early after the first sprint. Port Adelaide Cycling Clubs Darren Webb hit out taking the first set of line honours, followed by USG Cycling’s Matthew Sparnon, Michael Davies of ADX Depot and Raphael Christinat of NCC, before the four riders set off on their own in what would be a 28 lap battle to hold off the rest of the field. Along the way Sparnon would clean up the majority of the points on offer. Christinat would see himself distanced prior to the 5th sprint, allowing Phillip Bray (also of USG Cycling) to sneak onto the points board. Christinat’s teammate James Hollamby would take the final points on offer to put himself in the top 5 overall after Sparnon took out the final sprint to claim a decisive victory in the opening round, and in doing so be awarded the opening SCODY Super Series Leaders Jersey. Webb was second on a countback and rewarded with the opening Road iD Most Aggressive title. Michael Davies claimed third, and the Chateau Yaldara 050 Category lead.

Cat 2 Men

Category Two Men was the most closely contested grade of the 2018 Super Series. Josiah Whittaker (then AUCC, now with Rocket Racing) battled hard with Norwood CC’s Andrew Clarkson and Matt Hutchinson; who has since graduated to elites with team USG. In the final lap of the 2018 finale, Hutchinson blew a tyre, ruling him out of contention, with Whittaker taking the sprint, and the series win on countback over a disappointed Clarkson.

This year, we expected a new battle, and we weren’t disappointed with action from the start. The first skirmish was won by NCC’s Frank Smith, but Whittaker and teammate Daniel Lynch weren’t far behind. Both Smith and Whitaker would miss points in the second round of sprints, with former NCC rider Sam Young taking the points, after also joining the newly established Rocket Racing. Whittaker would then score in every sprint from then on, eventually finishing clear of Smith by three points. They were joined on the podium by Smith’s Teammate Ryan Beaumont who took full advantage of the double points available in the final sprint. NCC junior and club captain, Dan Tattersall would be awarded the Adelaide Bike Fit Young Riders Jersey, and Gravier CC & Friends finding some podium time with the Road iD most aggressive going to Sam Walter for his podium near miss!

 Cat 2 Women

Although the size of Cat 2 women was slightly down on what we were hoping for, the talent and depth continues to rise. Butterfields Racing returned to Cat 2 Women, after sitting out the 2018 season to focus on their two elite teams. The Cycling South Australia Development team also lined up after skipping the 2018 season, and they’d be taking on the ever-strong Team Scyon and Team Envirosport.

It was Scyon who would take the opening round of points, with Isabella Dashorst taking a clean sprint for the line honours. In an ominous sign of things to come, she was trailed through by three Butterfields Racing riders. Unfortunately for one of those, Emma Seeliger, a crash would rule her out along with CSA Women’s Dev rider Vanessa Hughes. Alice Jolly (Butterfields Racing) would take the next two sprints and was setting herself up to be the rider to watch. Not to be outdone – Jolly’s Teammate Meg Lemon charged clear after the third sprint. Fresh off claiming a bronze medal at the para world championships, Lemon would stay clear through the fourth sprint, and all the way to the finish where she took double points and the round win. It was a Butterfields Racing Trifecta, with Aneeka Smith taking the third podium spot. Shelby Johnson made a successful Super Series debut, claiming the Adelaide Bike Fit Young Riders Classification.

Up next for all three categories is the Altitude Cycling and Fitness Team’s Time Trial at Lenswood. Unlike the opening round, this will be a fantastic opportunity for fans to see their favourite riders going slow as they battle their way to the top of the Stentifords Rd!

Round info can be found here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.