Elite Women: Moran Takes Back to Back Titles

November 26, 2019

Chloe Moran won the 2018 Super Series after coming back from an injury which had almost put her out of the sport entirely. In 2019, riding for the newly formed Team Prochem Elite Women’s team – she showed this same fighting spirit to hold off an onslaught by some of the fastest riders in the world.

Photo: Kevin Andrews

Arguably, the opening round (the Mischief Brew Points Race) at Pakapakanthi was well suited to the Aussie track squad, and they certainly demonstrated that they had some serious intent with members of the national team occupying all three podium steps. Despite being outridden in the round two Altitude Cycling and Fitness TTT by the younger Cycling Australia Academy team, it was clear that the teams headed by Ashlee Ankudinoff and Amy Cure would be the ones to beat in the 2019 series.

However, Moran and her teammates weren’t prepared to cede the series so early on with Moran striking back twice at the Copper Coast Cup, taking maximum points on both days, despite being pushed hard by USG’s Amber Pate. This pushed her back up to the series lead and put the pressure back on the Cycling Australia riders to maximise their point-scoring.

In the Victoria Park XL Round 5 – it was Ankudinoff who would come out swinging, leaving the field behind to take a fine solo victory, but Moran did enough once again to make sure that she remained in the stage top 10 and kept the majority of her points buffer intact. The Round 6 HALO Criterium at Aldinga saw a different member of the national team find the top step, with Nettie Edmondson making her first appearance with a clean win and Ankudinoff taking second, closing the gap further to Moran.

Photo: Andy Rogers

The race around Sturt Reserve in Murray Bridge saw Breanna Hargrave take one of the most memorable wins of the series. Off the front for the last part of the race, a charging bunch was set on bringing the National Team Pursuit Champion back into the fold, but Hargrave dug deep, staying clear and taking the win by just half a wheel with Gravier CC’s Nicola McDonald left just off the top step, and series leader Moran in third.

Photo: Kevin Andrews

With Ash Ankudinoff not making the start of the final round due to National Team commitments, Moran could breathe easy knowing that no other rider could overtake her, giving her a slightly less stressful final round. Macey Stewart took an impressive win, with Moran coming home in the top 10 in continuing her very consistent display, being the only rider to score points in each of the eight rounds. It was also enough to take the win in the Adelaide Bike Fit Young Riders Classification ahead of up-and-comers Maeve Plouffe and Sophie Edwards. Moran’s quest to push into the national team ahead of the 2024 Olympics in Paris seems very much on track.

Photo: Elliot Oakes

Bree Hargrave took the Chateau Yaldara Master’s Classification over Jenny Macpherson (Butterfields Racing) and Anita Marquart (Gravier CC), whilst the Adelaide Advanced Physiotherapy Sprint Classification went to Macey Stewart after she claimed maximum points in round 8. Maeve Plouffe was second again in this classification with Annette Edmondson claiming the final podium spot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.